worm reading children's zone


See below for all the latest news stories!

CLPE Poetry Prize | 12-May-05

The shortlist for the only national prize for poetry for children has been announced!

The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education have decided that the following poetry books are the best of those published in 2004:

John Agard & Grace Nichols (editors): From Mouth to Mouth, Walker
James Berry: Only One of Me, Macmillan
Seamus Cashman (editor): Something beginning with P, O'Brien Press
Stephen Knight: Sardines, Macmillan
Roger McGough (editor): Sensational, Macmillan
Adrian Mitchell: Daft as a Doughnut, Orchard
Brian Moses (compiler): Blood and Roses, British History in Poetry, Hodder

The judges, Valerie Bloom,  Margaret Meek Spencer, and Tony Mitton, will decide on a winner. The winning book will be announced by the Poet Laureate Andrew Motion on 6 June, in an event held at the Royal Festival Hall.

To read more about the prize, click here.

:: Back to Children's zone News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page