worm reading children's zone


See below for all the latest news stories!

CLPE Poetry Award 2015 Shortlist Announcement | 23-Apr-15

Established in 2003, the annual Poetry Award encourages and celebrates outstanding poetry published for children. CLPE is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2015 CLPE Poetry Award which is as follows:

Mandy Coe (editor): Let in the Stars, illustrated by The Manchester School of Art, The Manchester Writing School, Manchester Metropolitan University
An anthology in which a wide range of themes is combined with the unconventionalunfolding of individual poems Unexpected points of view abound and contemporarylanguage is considered in several poems.

Joseph Coelho: Werewolf Club Rules, illustrated by John O'Leary, Frances Lincoln
A fresh collection of poems from a new voice which celebrates the joys of everyday life andbeyond and displays a delight in language.

Georgie Horrell, Aisha Spencer and Morag Styles (editors): Give the Ball to the Poet: A New Anthology of Caribbean Poetry, illustrated by Jane Ray, Commonwealth EducationTrust
A celebration of Caribbean culture and environment is threaded throughout this vibrantanthology alongside the anger and sorrow begotten of the interdependent history ofmigration, slavery and exploitation between the Caribbean and Britain.

Hilda Offen: Blue Balloons and Rabbit Ears, Troika Books
An appealing collection for young children, illustrated by the poet. Full of fun and rhyme and rhythm and a variety of verse forms, it includes thoughtful themes about nature and history too.

Rachel Rooney: My Life as a Goldfish and other poems, illustrated by Ellie Jenkins, Frances Lincoln
These succinct poems, sometimes darkly humorous and incorporating delicious wordplay,are lessons in how economy of words can lead the imagination to soar.

The judging panel is chaired by the eminent poet, radio presenter and performer, Roger McGough and the other members of the panel are:
Tony Bradman - children's author and Chair of the Siobhan Dowd Trust
Allie Esiri - poetry anthologist, performer and expert
Charlotte Hacking - CLPE Poetry Programme Manager
Tony Mitton - poet and Children's Poetry Award 2014 winner for Wayland

Roger McGough, Poet and Chair of the CLPE Poetry Award Judges commented: "The judges were excited by the variety and quality of the poetry in the books submitted for this year's award and a spirited discussion took place before we arrived at our shortlist. However, once again we were sorry that there were not more submissions and that so few publishers are producing poetry books for children and young people. It is essential that organisations such as CLPE continue to highlight the importance of published children's poetry and give it the status it deserves in schools and in the world of children's literature."

The winner of the 2015 Award will be announced on July 16th 2015 at a ceremony in the new Dorfman Theatre at the National Theatre in London. There will be poetry performances by children and the poets and the winner of the Award will receive £1000.

For the first time CLPE is running a shadowing scheme to involve schools in the Poetry Award 2015. This is a great opportunity for primary schools to enhance their literacy curriculum in a fresh and exciting way. As part of the shadowing scheme, a competition will see children from winning schools invited to perform on stage at the Award ceremony. All schools, regardless of whether they are participating in the shadowing scheme, can take poetry into the classroom supported by high quality free resources including films of shortlisted poets performing, the poets talking about their work and accompanying teaching resources. These will be available on CLPE's Poetryline website
The CLPE Poetry Award was developed to ensure that children's poetry has a recognised place within children's literature. Previous winners of the prize include: Roger McGough, Philip Gross, Carol Ann Duffy, Jackie Kay, John Agard and Grace Nichols.

:: Back to Children's zone News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page