man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Newspaper (News)


Anne Stevenson will be Chair of judges and the other two members of the panel will be Bernardine Evaristo and Michael Symmons Roberts.

Poetry Trust

Aldeburgh First Collection Prize open for entries 17-Jun-10

The Poetry Trust is inviting submissions for the best debut collection by a IK poet.

Newspaper (News)

David Chaloner, 1944-2010 05-Jun-10

The poet David Chaloner has died. Author of 'Chocolate Sauce' and numerous other books and pamphlets, his 'Collected Poems' were published by Salt Publishing in 2005

Newspaper (News)

Wimbledon & The Poetry Trust announce first 'Championships Poet' 23-May-10

The Poetry Trust has teamed up with Wimbledon to appoint the first 'Championships Poet': Matt Harvey

Newspaper (News)

Shortlist for Michael Marks Awards for Poetry Pamphlets announced 18-May-10

The Terrors, Tom Chivers (Nine Arches Press). The Titanic Café closes its doors and hits the rocks, David Hart (Nine Arches Press). Advice on Wearing Animal Prints, Selima Hill (Flarestack Poets). Devorgilla's Bridge, Hugh McMillan (Roncadora Press). The Reluctant Vegetarian, Richard Moorhead (Oystercatcher Press). ballast: a remix, Nii Ayikwei Parkes (tall-lighthouse).

Newspaper (News)

The winners of the 2010 Christopher Tower Poetry Prize 09-May-10

Christopher Tower Poetry Prize, the UK's most prestigious award for 16 to 18 year old aspiring poets, were announced 24 March Christ Church in Oxford: Emily Harrison, first prize; Katie Woods, second prize; Megan Owens, third prize.

Newspaper (News)

The Wales Book of the Year Long List Announced 25-Apr-10

This year's list is especially exciting because almost all the best books this year were by lesser-known or younger writers, notably the two novelists and the three poets

Newspaper (News)

Appeal for a worldwide reading on June 4 for Liao Yiwu 24-Apr-10

-- and in commemoration of the Tiananmen Square massacre

Newspaper (News)

Book now for Creative Writes workshops 22-Apr-10

Places are available on workshops led by Nichola Charalambou.

Newspaper (News)

Winners of the National Poetry Competition announced 03-Apr-10

Helen Dunmore wins first prize, awarded by Ruth Padel, Daljit Nagra and Neil Rollinson.

Newspaper (News)

Book now for Creative Writes workshops 20-Feb-10

Limited space available for classes running in March and April.

Poetry society

New poetry site for young people 20-Feb-10

The Poetry Society has launched a new online magazine showcasing work by young people.

Newspaper (News)

MANCHESTER M2: John Clare - a Celebration 18-Feb-10

JUDITH ALLNATT will read from her new novel 'The Poet's Wife' (Transworld), a re-imagining of Clare & his family through the eyes of his wife Patty. Also present: Professor JOHN GOODRIDGE, Vice President of the John Clare Society, editor of two volumes of essays on Clare, and currently working on a monograph of Clare's poetry. MONDAY 22nd FEBRUARY, 6pm onwards. Manchester Central Library. Free event.

Poetry Trust

SUFFOLK: Deadline approaches for Fourth Advanced Poetry Seminar 27-Jan-10

Expressions of interest are invited for The Poetry Trust's workshop aimed at those approaching a first collection.

Newspaper (News)

STRATFORD-UPON-AVON: Hosking Houses Trust is looking for a writer in residence 27-Jan-10

Trust founded on Virginia Woolf's claim that "woman needs money and a room of her own if she is to write" seeks applicants for its twelfth residency.

Muriel Spark CV

MANCHESTER M2: Carcanet - Muriel Spark: a celebration 26-Jan-10

with Professor Martin Stannard and Dr Andrew Biswell 1-2pm in the Committee Room at Manchester Central Library, St Peter's Square. This is a FREE event; all are welcome. Telephone 0161 834 8730 for more information.

Newspaper (News)

T S Eliot Prize Shadowing Scheme Winners 21-Jan-10

Iona Singleton, 6th form student at South Wilts Grammar School, has won the T S Eliot Prize Shadowing Scheme competition for her eloquent and personal response to Philip Gross's winning collection

Newspaper (News)

Winner of the T S Eliot Prize for Poetry Announced 21-Jan-10

The Poetry Book Society is delighted to announce that Philip Gross has won the 2009 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry with The Water Table, published by Bloodaxe.

Writing poetry

LONDON NC1: Writers' Residency Debate 15-Jan-10

What impact do these residencies really have on the people, places and organisations involved, and how do they, in turn, shape the writing that's created? Join writers Lemn Sissay, Kat Joyce and Sarah Butler, plus Tamsin Dillon, Charles Beckett and Emma Hewett for a lively debate. Book online:, 02077353111

Newspaper (News)

Vera Rich 13-Jan-10

Sadly, the poet Vera Rich has passed away at the age of 73.

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page