man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

John Agard awarded The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry 2012 | 29-Dec-12

John Agard is to be awarded The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry 2012. The Medal is awarded for excellence in poetry, and will be presented to John Agard by The Queen in 2013.

Poet, performer, anthologist, John Agard was born in Guyana and came to Britain in 1977. His many books include six collections from Bloodaxe, From the Devil's Pulpit (1997), Weblines (2000), We Brits (2006), Alternative Anthem: Selected Poems (2009), Clever Backbone (2009), and Travel Light Travel Dark (due in June 2013). In December 2012 it was announced that he would receive the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry for 2012.

He won the Casa de las Américas Prize in 1982, a Paul Hamlyn Award in 1997, and a Cholmondeley Award in 2004. We Brits was shortlisted for the 2007 Decibel Writer of the Year Award, and he has won the Guyana Prize twice, for his From the Devil's Pulpit and Weblines.

Read here the official statement from the Press Secretary to the Queen.

BBC News

Previous Recipients of The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry:

2011: Jo Shapcott
2010: Gillian Clarke
2009: Don Paterson
2007: James Fenton
2006: Fleur Adcock
2004: Hugo Williams
2003: U. A. Fanthorpe
2002: Peter Porter
2001: Michael Longley
2000: Edwin Morgan
1998: Les Murray
1996: Peter Redgrove
1992: Kathleen Raine
1991: Judith Wright
1990: Sorley Maclean
1989: Allen Curnow
1988: Derek Walcott
1986: Norman MacCaig
1981: D. J. Enright
1977: Norman Nicholson
1974: Ted Hughes
1973: John Heath-Stubbs
1971: Stephen Spender
1970: Roy Fuller
1969: Stevie Smith
1968: Robert Graves
1967: Charles Causley
1965: Philip Larkin
1964: R. S. Thomas
1963: William Plomer
1962: Christopher Fry
1960: John Betjeman
1959: Frances Cornford
1957: Siegfried Sassoon
1956: Edmund Blunden
1955: Ruth Pitter
1954: Ralph Hodgson
1953: Arthur Waley
1952: Andrew Young
1940: Michael Thwaites
1937: W. H. Auden
1934: Laurence Whistler

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page