man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Shortlists for Forward Prizes announced | 19-Jul-13

The shortlists for the three 2013 Forward Prizes for poetry have been announced.

The Forward prizes are awarded for three categories: The Best Collection Award (£10,000) for established poets, the Best First Collection (£5,000) for new voices and the Best Single Poem (£1,000) for published works not yet collected in book form. Chosen from 162 collections across ninety-six publishers, the shortlisted poets for Best Collection are: Rebecca Goss, Sinead Morrissey, Jacob Polley, Glyn Maxwell, and Michael Symmons Roberts. The shortlisted poets for the £5,000 Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection are Emily Berry, Marianne Burton, Steve Ely, Hannah Lowe, Dan O'Brien and Adam White. The shortlisted poets for the Best Single Poem are Patience Agbabi, C. J. Allen, Nick MacKinnon, Rosie Shepperd and Hugo Williams.

Jeanette Winterson, who chaired the judging panel, consisting of the actor/director Samuel West, the journalist David Mills and the poets Paul Farley and Sheenagh Pugh, said: 'This is a powerful year for poetry. We made our choices looking for poems that used a lit-up living language and had a sense of purpose.'
Click here to read Sheenagh Pugh's Guardian blog about the judging process.

The prizes will be awarded by Jeanette Winterson on October 1st 2013 at the Southbank Centre. Tickets for the event are on sale here

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page