man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Vincent O'Sullivan - the 2013-2015 Poet Laureate for NZ | 23-Oct-13

Vincent O'Sullivan is New Zealand's new Poet Laureate.

New Zealand's new Laureate was announced on New Zealand's National Poetry Day, Friday 16th August, 2013.

Vincent O'Sullivan born in Auckland in 1937 is a poet, short story writer, novelist, playwright, critic and editor.
A graduate from the universities of Auckland (1959) and Oxford (1962), he lectured in the English departments of Victoria University of Wellington (1963-66) and (after several months in Greece) the University of Waikato (1968-78), before committing himself to full-time writing.

He served as literary editor of the NZ Listener (1979-80), and then (1981?87) won a series of writer's residencies and research fellowships in universities in Australia and New Zealand, interrupted by a year as resident playwright at Downstage Theatre, Wellington (1983). In 1988 he resumed his academic career as professor of English at Victoria University of Wellington.

Since 2004 he has been Emeritus Professor in the School of English and Film Studies at Victoria, but is now based in Dunedin. The winner of many literary prizes, including the Prime Minister's Award for Literary Achievement for Poetry in 2006,   he was the Katherine Mansfield Memorial Fellow in Menton in 1994, and the first writer-in-residence at Henderson House in Alexandra in 2007.

There have been nine Laureates since the inception of the award in 1996:

Te Mata Estate Poets Laureate:

Bill Manhire
Hone Tuwhare
Elizabeth Smither
Brian Turner
Jenny Bornholdt

New Zealand Poets Laureate (appointed by the National Library)

Michele Leggott
Cilla McQueen
Ian Wedde
Vincent O'Sullivan

More information

See also: Beattie's blog

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page