man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Forward Prizes 2014 shortlists announced | 03-Jun-14

The Shortlists for the 2014 Forward Prizes have been announced.  The Chair of Judges was Jeremy Paxman, alongside the musician Cerys Matthews and three poets: Dannie Abse, Helen Mort and Vahni Capildeo.

Forward Prize for Best Collection (£10,000)
Colette Bryce, The Whole and Rain-Domed Universe, Picador
John Burnside, All One Breath, Jonathan Cape
Louise Glück, Faithful and Virtuous Night, Carcanet Press
Kei Miller, The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion, Carcanet Press
Hugo Williams, I Knew the Bride, Faber & Faber

Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection (£5,000)
Liz Berry Black Country, Chatto & Windus
Fiona Benson, Bright Travellers, Jonathan Cape
Niall Campbell, Moontide, Bloodaxe Books
Beatrice Garland, The Invention of Fireworks, Templar Poetry
Kevin Powers, Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting, Sceptre
Vidyan Ravinthiran, Grun-Tu-Molani, Bloodaxe Books

Forward Prize for Best Single Poem (£1000)
Tim Nolan, "Red Wing Correctional Facility", Coffee-House Poetry at the Troubadour
Denise Riley, "After La Rochefoucauld", UEA LDC Poetry
Stephen Santus (Stephen Smith), "In a Restaurant", The Bridport Prize
Jack Underwood, "Thank You for Your Email", The White Review
Jeffrey Wainwright, "An Empty Street", PN Review c/o Carcanet Press

The winners of this year's Forward prizes will be announced on 30 September. 
:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page