man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Forward Prize winners announced | 04-Oct-14

The Forward Prize for Best Collection was awarded on Tuesday 30 September to Kei Miller for The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion.

Liz  Berry won the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection for Black Country

And the winner of the Best Single Poem was Stephen Santus, for In A Restaurant.

Shortlisted for the £10,000 Forward Prize for Best Collection:

Colette Bryce         The Whole & Rain-Domed Universe

John Burnside        All One Breath

Louise Glück           Faithful and Virtuous Night

Kei Miller                The Cartographer Tries to Map A Way to Zion

Hugo Williams        I Knew the Bride


Shortlisted for the £5,000 Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection:

Liz Berry                     Black Country

Fiona Benson             Bright Travellers

Niall Campbell           Moontide

Beatrice Garland       The Invention of Fireworks

Kevin Powers             Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting

Vidyan Ravinthiran    Grun-tu-molani


Shortlisted for the £1,000 Forward Prize for Best Single Poem:

Tim Nolan                     Red Wing Correctional Facility     (Troubadour International Poetry Prize)

Denise Riley                  After La Rochefoucauld                   (Eggbox/UEA Poetry Series)

Stephen Santus             In a Restaurant                                   (The Bridport Prize)

Jack Underwood         Thank you for your email                 (The White Review)

Jeffrey Wainwright      An Empty Street                                 (PN Review)

The Forward Prizes for Poetry are the most prestigious awards for poetry in Britain and Ireland. They were set up in 1991 to celebrate excellence in new writing, and are awarded to published poets for work in print in the last year.

The three prizes - £10,000 for Best Collection, £5,000 for Best First Collection and £1,000 for Best Single Poem - are unique in honouring both the work of established poets and the debuts of brilliant unknowns.

The Forward Prizes for Poetry have played a key role in identifying and promoting emerging poets, whilst extending poetry's audience and raising poetry's profile. Past Forward winners including Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Alice Oswald, Ted Hughes, Carol Ann Duffy and Kathleen Jamie.

The 2014 judging panel was chaired by writer and broadcaster Jeremy Paxman. The other judges include three poets - Dannie Abse, Helen Mort and Vahni Capildeo - and the singer-songwriter Cerys Matthews.

The winners were announced on Tuesday 30th September 2014 at London's Southbank centre. Work by all shortlisted and highly commended poets are published in the annual Forward Book of Poetry.

Read Guardian article here 

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page