man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

T S Eliot Prize 2014 shortlist announced | 27-Oct-14

The Poetry Book Society has announced the shortlist for the 2014 T S Eliot Prize.

Judges Helen Dunmore (Chair), Sean Borodale and Fiona Sampson have chosen the shortlist from 113 books submitted by publishers:

Fiona Benson - Bright Travellers (Jonathan Cape)
John Burnside - All One Breath (Jonathan Cape)
Louise Glück - Faithful and Virtuous Night (Carcanet)
David Harsent - Fire Songs (Faber)
Michael Longley -  The Stairwell (Jonathan Cape)
Ruth Padel - Learning to Make an Oud in Nazareth (Chatto & Windus)
Pascale Petit - Fauverie (Seren)
Kevin Powers - Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting (Sceptre)
Arundhathi Subramaniam - When God is a Traveller (Bloodaxe)
Hugo Williams - I Knew the Bride (Faber)

To mark the 50th anniversary of T S Eliot's death on 4 January 2015, the T S Eliot Estate has increased the value of the Prize named in his honour. From this year the winner will receive £20,000 and the ten shortlisted poets will each receive £1,500. The T S Eliot Estate has also extended its support to become sole sponsor of the Prize.

The winner of the 2014 Prize will be announced at The Award Ceremony at the Wallace Collection on Monday 12 January 2015.

The T S Eliot Prize Readings will take place on the eve of the announcement, Sunday 11 January 2015, in Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall.
Please find more information about UK poetry's largest annual reading and how to book tickets here:

Join Poetry Library staff in December at our Poetry Library Book Club as we discuss the 10 shortlisted books. More information here:

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page