man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

T S Eliot Prize Shortlist | 23-Oct-15

The Poetry Book Society have announced an international shortlist for the 2015 T S Eliot Prize.

Judges Pascale Petit (Chair), Kei Miller and Ahren Warner have unanimously chosen the shortlist from a record 142 books submitted by publishers:

Mark Doty - Deep Lane (Cape Poetry)
Tracey Herd - Not in this World (Bloodaxe)
Selima Hill - Jutland (Bloodaxe)
Sarah Howe - Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus)
Tim Liardet - The World Before Snow (Carcanet)
Les Murray - Waiting for the Past (Carcanet)
Sean O'Brien - The Beautiful Librarians (Picador)
Don Paterson - 40 Sonnets (Faber)
Rebecca Perry - Beauty/Beauty (Bloodaxe)
Claudia Rankine - Citizen: An American Lyric (Penguin)

Chair Pascale Petit said:

"This is a fantastic year for poetry, with the highest amount of entries submitted in the history of the prize, and an exceptional number of outstanding collections, including many dazzling debuts. This made our task of choosing the shortlist tricky - many that didn't make it are books we love. But we were unanimous about our final list, the books my distinguished fellow judges and I picked all awed and excited us with their ambition, verve and technical mastery."

The Poetry Library will be hosting two very special free book club events in December where we will discuss the shortlisted books. Click here to find out more.

The T S Eliot Prize Readings will take place on Sunday 10 January 2016 at Southbank Centre. Click here for ticket details.

The winner of the 2015 Prize will be announced at the T S Eliot Prize Award Ceremony on Monday 11 January 2016, where the winning poet will be presented with a cheque for £20,000, donated by the T S Eliot Estate.

Find out more about the T S Eliot Prize on The Poetry Book Society website.

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page