man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Forward Prizes 2016 shortlists announced | 13-Jun-16

The Forward prizes will be awarded at a ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall on 20 September 2016. Tickets available here.

The Forward Prize for Best Collection Shortlist (£15,000)

Vahni Capildeo - Measures of Expatriation (Carcanet)
Ian Duhig - The Blind Roadmaker (Picador Poetry)
Choman Hardi - Considering the Women (Bloodaxe Books)
Alice Oswald - Falling Awake (Cape Poetry)
Denise Riley - Say Something Back (Picador Poetry)

The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection  Shortlist (£5,000)

Nancy Campbell - Disko Bay (Enitharmon Press)
Ron Carey - Distance  (Revival Press)
Harry Giles - Tonguit (Freight Books)
Ruby Robinson - Every Little Sound (Liverpool University Press)
Tiphanie Yanique - Wife (Peepal Tree Press)

The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem Shortlist (£1,000)

Sasha Dugdale - 'Joy' (PN Review)
David Harsent - 'from Salt' (Poetry London)
Solmaz Sharif - 'Force Visibility' (Granta Magazine)
Melissa Lee-Houghton - 'i am very precious' (Prac Crit)
Rachel Hadas - 'Roosevelt Hospital Blues' (Times Literary Supplement)

This year's judging panel is chaired by Malika Booker, writer and spoken word artist, and includes poets George Szirtes and Liz Berry, with singer/songwriter Tracey Thorn and Don Share, editor of Poetry magazine. 

For more information visit the Forward Arts Foundation website

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page