man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Alice Oswald wins Costa Poetry Award | 06-Jan-17

Alice Oswald has won the Costa Poetry Award for her seventh collection Falling Awake (Cape Poetry). Oswald was shortlisted alongside Melissa Lee-Houghton for Sunshine (Penned in the Margins); Denise Riley for Say Something Back (Picador); and Kate Tempest for Let Them Eat Chaos (Picador). 

The other category winners on the night were Francis Spufford (First Novel Award), Sebastian Barry (Novel Award), Keggie Carew (Biography Award) and Brian Conaghan (Children's Book Award). All five winners receive £5,000 and are now in the running for the Costa Book of the Year, worth £30,000 and announced on 31 January.

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page