man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Jacob Polley wins 2016 TS Eliot Prize | 17-Jan-17

Jacob Polley has won the prestigious TS Eliot Prize (£20,000) for his collection Jackself, described by the judges as "a firework of a book".

Chair of the judges Ruth Padel, joined on the panel by Julia Copus and Alan Gillis, said: "All three judges were agonised by choosing between such brilliant books. But the winning collection, Jacob Polley's Jackself, is a firework of a book; inventive, exciting and outstanding in its imaginative range and depth of feeling."

Polley is from Carlisle and has been shortlisted for the UK's richest poetry prize twice before - for his debut collection The Brink in 2003, and then again with The Havocs in 2012. He was shortlisted this year alongside Alice Oswald, Rachel Boast, Vahni Capildeo, Ian Duhig, J O Morgan, Bernard O’Donoghue, Denise Riley, Ruby Robinson and Katharine Towers to claim the prize. Each shortlisted author will take home a cheque for £1,500.

Read more about this and watch a video of Jacob Polley reading from Jackself on The Guardian

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page