man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Submissions open for CLPE Children’s Poetry Award | 23-Jan-17

Publishers are invited to submit books of children's poetry published in 2016 for CLPE Children's Poetry Award - CLiPPA 2017.

This year marks the 15th anniversary of the annual Poetry Award, the only award for published poetry for children in the UK. It encourages and celebrates outstanding new children’s poetry and is presented annually for a book of poetry by a single poet or collections of children's poetry published in the preceding year.
The winner will join an incredible past line up of winners from the world of children’s poetry including Sarah Crossan, Michael Rosen, Joseph Coelho, Roger McGough, George Szirtes, Carol Ann Duffy, Philip Gross and John Agard.
This year the Chair of the Judging panel will be poet Rachel Rooney. Rooney is joined by a range of poetry experts who share a passion for poetry and its place in children's developing literacy:

  • Sarah Crossan - Poet and CLiPPA 2016 joint winner for One
  • Caleb Femi – Poet and the Young People's Laureate for London
  • Charlotte Hacking - CLPE Learning Programme Leader
  • Imogen Russell Williams - Children's book critic and editorial consultant 
The shortlist will be announced in early May and the winner revealed at the CLiPPA 2017 Poetry Show in July. 

Read more about the CLiPPA

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page