man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

TS Eliot Prize 2017 shortlist announced | 19-Oct-17

This year's TS Eliot Prize looks to be a battle of the independent publishers with nominated works from Carcanet, Faber, Bloodaxe and Nine Arches as well as four titles from Cape Poetry. Additionally the prize money has been increased by £5,000 to £25,000, marking the 25th anniversary of the prestigious prize.

The full shortlist:

Cape Poetry
James Sheard's The Abandoned Settlements
Ocean Vuong's Night Sky with Exit Wounds
Michael Symmons Roberts' Mancunia 
Leontia Flynn's The Radio 

Carcanet Press
Tara Bergin's The Tragic Death of Eleanor Marx
Caroline Bird's In these Days of Prohibition 
Robert Minhinnick's Diary of the Last Man 

Faber & Faber
Douglas Dunn's The Noise of a Fly 

Bloodaxe Books
Roddy Lumsden's So Glad I’m Me 

Nine Arches Press
Jacqueline Saphra's All My Mad Mothers 

The TS Eliot Prize Readings will take place at Southbank Centre on Sunday 14 January 2018, hosted by Ian McMillan. Book your tickets here

The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced on Monday 15 January 2018. Come along to our free Book Club to discuss the works shortlisted.

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page