man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

The Edwin Morgan Poetry Award 2018 | 14-Dec-17

The 2018 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award is accepting entries now. The sum of £20,000 will be awarded for the best unpublished collection of poems by a Scottish poet aged 30 or under. The runner-up will receive £2,500 and other shortlisted poets £1,000. 

Conditions for entry have changed a little for 2018. Whereas in previous years a collection could either be published or unpublished, it must now be unpublished; it can be submitted if it has been accepted for publication so long as the collection doesn’t appear in print before the announcement of the Prize, which will take place at the Edinburgh International Book Festival in August.

Poets should be no older than 30 years of age on the first day of January in the year of the Award, i.e. 1 January 2018 for the 2018 Award. Furthermore, those taking part must either have been born in Scotland, or continuously resident in Scotland for the last three years, or brought up in Scotland, or have a Scottish parent. 

The judges for the 2018 award are Janice Galloway and John Glenday. The Gaelic Adviser for 2018 is Meg Bateman.

For more details visit

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page