man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Submissions open for the CLPE Children's Poetry Award | 10-Jan-18

Publishers are invited to submit books of children's poetry published in 2017 for CLiPPA 2018. Established in 2003, the Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award (CLiPPA) is the only award to recognise excellence in published poetry for children in the UK. It encourages and celebrates outstanding new children's poetry and is presented annually for a book of poetry by a single poet or collection of children's poetry published in the preceding year.

Chair and Judges

This year the Chair of the Judging panel will be poet and first ever CLiPPA winner, Grace Nichols.

Grace is joined by a range of poetry experts who share a passion for poetry and its place in children’s developing literacy.

  • Anthony Anaxagorou – Poet and poetry educator. Founder of Out-Spoken Press
  • Charlotte Hacking - CLPE Learning Programme Leader
  • Imogen Lycett Green – Director of the Betjeman Poetry Prize for Young Poets
  • Kate Wakeling - Poet and CliPPA 2017 winner for Moon Juice

Grace Nichols, Chair of Judges said: "Poetry is so important for children because it helps them to see the world with new eyes, as each poem is like a freshly created little universe, at the same time awakening them to the power, beauty and rhythm of language. I'm delighted to have the opportunity to chair the judging panel for this year’s CLiPPA and look forward to celebrating the very best new poetry for children."

The shortlist will be announced in May and the winner revealed at the CLiPPA 2018 Poetry Show in June in the 1,000-seater Olivier Theatre at the National Theatre, London in front of an audience of poets, publishers, teachers, and young readers from the Shadowing Scheme.

The winner of CLiPPA 2018 will join an incredible past line up of winners from the world of children's poetry including Sarah Crossan, Michael Rosen, Joseph Coelho, Roger McGough, Carol Ann Duffy and John Agard.

For more information about the Poetry Award, Poetry Award winners, this year's judges and the Shadowing Scheme visit

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page