man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Prize 2006/7 | 06-Jun-06

The deadline for submitting work to the annual prize for what the judges consider the best first collection published in the Great Britain or Eire is 31 July of this year.

The organisers say the following about the prize:

"Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Prize 2006/7

Stephen Knight, Michael Laskey (Chairman), Carole Satyamurti

The Poetry Trust invites submissions from publishers or individual poets for its annual prize awarded to the author of what in the opinion of the judges is the best first full collection of poetry published in Great Britain and Eire in the preceding year.

- £3,000
- a week of paid 'protected' writing time in Aldeburgh
- a fee-paying invitation to read at the Aldeburgh Poetry Festival 2007

Any first collection of at least 40 pages published in Britain or Eire between 1st September 2005 and 31st July 2006 is eligible.

Three bound or proof copies with a note of the date of publication must be received by 31st July 2006.

All entries to:
Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Prize
The Cut
9 New Cut
IP19 8BY

The shortlist of up to five titles will be released in October 2006.

The winner will be announced at the 18th Aldeburgh Poetry Festival, which
takes place on 3-5 November 2006."

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page