man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

New Writing North launches Northern Writers' Awards 2009 | 28-Oct-08

28 October 2008
NWN launches Northern Writers' Awards 2009
The Northern Writers' Awards celebrates its tenth anniversary this year with a new sponsorship deal worth £30,000 over three years from the Sunderland-based Leighton Group.
The annual awards, which are organised by New Writing North, the region's new writing development agency, support North East writers in the development of their new novel and poetry collections. Each year £25,000 is awarded to support emerging talent and recognise established writers in the region.
'As a business based in this region, we in the Leighton Group are acutely aware of the importance of investing in people,' says Leighton chairman Paul Callaghan (pictured above right with NWN chair Jonathan Blackie). 'Our support for the Northern Writers' Awards is a reflection of this commitment to invest in the creative talents of the people of this region. By supporting the development of writers in the North East, the Northern Writers' Awards play a vital role in reinforcing the region?s commitment to the arts and culture. We are delighted to be a part of the ten-year celebrations of an award that encourages creativity through writing and nurtures this region?s talent.'
'We are delighted that Paul Callaghan and the Leighton Group have agreed to sponsor the awards so generously for the next three years and have seen the value in supporting individual creativity and literary endeavour,' adds New Writing North director Claire Malcolm. 'I don?t think we often appreciate how much acclaim and attention that writers working quietly on their own bring to the region's cultural reputation but it is a great deal and we should celebrate and acknowledge this more.'
The Northern Writers' Awards, which have been helping to boost writers' careers since 2000, are open to anyone living and working in the region. During the last ten years, 82 writers have received an award, with 75 per cent of those going on to successfully publish the work for which they specifically received the award. The awards are also supported by Arts Council England.
As well as supporting established writers who need time to complete work in progress or to change direction via the Time to Write category, the awards also offer career development opportunities for new talent with the Northern Promise Award and via the Andrea Badenoch Fiction Award. The judges for the 2009 awards are leading literary agent Carole Blake and Salt publishers Jen and Chris Hamilton-Emery. The deadline for entries is 20 January 2009.
For information on how to enter the awards, see the New Writing North website.
:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page