man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

CLPE Poetry Award for 2009 | 12-Jul-09

The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education has announced the winner of the CLPE Poetry Award for 2009 as:

John Agard: The Young Inferno, illustrated by Satoshi Kitamura
Frances Lincoln £12.99

The presentation was made at the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education on Tuesday July 7th 2009 by last year's winner Jackie Kay.

The CLPE Poetry Award honours excellence in poetry written for children. It is presented annually for a book of poetry published in the preceding year. Previous winners include Roger McGough, Fiona Waters and Grace Nichols whose anthology Under the Moon, Over the Sea edited with John Agard won the inaugural CLPE Poetry Award in 2003 .

The judges of the award this year were Jackie Kay, Andrew Lambirth and Lindsay MacRae, chaired by Margaret Meek Spencer.
For further information, please contact:
Ann Lazim 020 7902 2287 email

The shortlist for the 2008 CLPE Poetry Award is as follows:

Allan Ahlberg: Collected Poems, illustrated by Charlotte Voake
Puffin £14.99

Sharon Creech: Hate That Cat
Bloomsbury £9.99/£4.99

Sophie Hannah & John Hegley (eds): The Ropes
Diamond Twig £9.99

JonArno Lawson (ed): Inside Out, illustrated by Jonny Hannah
Walker Books £9.99

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page