man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Shortlist for the 2009 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry Announced | 23-Oct-09

T S Eliot Prize 2009


The Poetry Book Society is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2009 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry.

Judges Simon Armitage (Chair), Colette Bryce and Penelope Shuttle have chosen the following 10 collections from the 98 new books published in 2009:

Eiléan Ní Chuilleánain, The Sun-fish, Gallery
Fred D'Aguiar, Continental Shelf, Carcanet
Jane Draycott, Over, Carcanet
Philip Gross, The Water Table, Bloodaxe
Sinéad Morrissey, Through the Square Window, Carcanet
Sharon Olds, One Secret Thing, Cape
Alice Oswald, Weeds & Wild Flowers, Faber
Christopher Reid, A Scattering, Areté
George Szirtes, The Burning of the Books and Other Poems, Bloodaxe
Hugo Williams, West End Final, Faber

Simon Armitage said:

?We believe this to be the most wide-ranging shortlist for a poetry prize for a good number of years, one which reflects the scope, breadth and vitality of contemporary poetry.  From the extraordinary number of poetry titles to be published this year we have been most impressed and persuaded by poets who have pushed their level of craft to the next level, or, in some cases, have re-thought their entire approach to writing to produce uniquely invigorated work.  The books on this list are by poets who have dreamed and who have dared.?

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page