man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Crashaw Prize shortlist announced | 05-Jan-10

The 2009 Crashaw Prize - which attracts manuscripts from poets in the UK and Ireland, the USA, Australia and New Zealand - has announced its shortlisted poets.

The Crashaw Prize is an international annual prize for a first collection of poetry. Entrants must not have been published before, and must permanently reside in the UK & Ireland, the USA, or Australia & New Zealand.

The shortlisted poets, selected from over 120 entries, are:

Phil Brown, Il Avilit (ENGLAND)
Matt Bryden, Boxing the Compass (ENGLAND)
Theodore Z. Cotler, House with a Dark Sky Roof (USA)
Nathan Hoks, Book of Clouds (USA)
Yvonne C. Murphy, Aviaries (USA)
Andrew Pidoux, Year of the Lion (USA)
Nick Potamitis, The Book of Night Terrors (ENGLAND)
Terry Ann Thaxton, Getaway Girl (USA)
Jonty Tiplady, Zam Bonk Dip (ENGLAND)
Ryan Van Winkle, Untitled (SCOTLAND)
Eoghan Walls, The Salt Harvest (IRELAND)
Anna Woodford, Birdhouse (ENGLAND)

Salt's managing director, Chris Hamilton-Emery, said: "The Crashaw Prize is unique in discovering poets from many different cultures and locations, yet it is clear that we share not only a language but increasingly a shrinking, more accessible, digital world. Poetry in English is now a global exchange of ideas and practices: there are no dominant modes of writing, no success patterns to adopt or defend, no single model of expression and our heritage is a global one. Audiences, too, are as diverse as the writing and writers. This diversity as well as the community of poetry in English is to be celebrated and, indeed, forms the background and impetus to the Crashaw Prize itself."

The winners will be announced on Friday 26th of February.

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page