man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Shortlist announced for the 2010 Aldeburgh First Collection Prize | 06-Oct-10

Shortlist announced for Aldeburgh First Collection Prize 2010

The shortlist for the 2010 Aldeburgh First Collection Prize has been announced.

Poet and judge Neil Rollinson has said of the shortlisting process: "There were a few splendid books which were a joy to read and which I'd be happy to recommend to anyone. As it happens, all three judges were in agreement about these books. Beautifully crafted and highly original, any one of our shortlist would make a good winning collection."

The shortlisted books are:

Christian Campbell, Running the Dusk (Peepal Tree Press)
Robert Dickinson, Micrographia (Waterloo Press)
Sheila Hillier, A Quechua Confession Manual (Cinnamon Press)
Katharine Towers, The Floating Man (Picador Poetry)
Sam Willetts, New Light for the Old Dark (Cape Poetry)
Tony Williams, The Corner of Arundel Lane and Charles Street (Salt Publishing)

Both Christian Campbell and Sam Willetts are also shortlisted for the Forward Best First Collection Prize (to be announced on Wednesday 6 October 2010).

The Aldeburgh First Collection Prize awards a prize of £3,000 and emphasises identifying and developing talent - the winner receives a week of ?protected? writing time on the inspirational Suffolk coast and a fee-paying invitation to read at the 2011 Aldeburgh Poetry Festival.

The winner will be announced at the 22nd Aldeburgh Poetry Festival on Friday 5th November 2010.

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page