man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Winners of the Bridport Prize 2010 announced | 03-Nov-10

The poetry prizewinners have been announced for this year's Bridport Prize. The prize is one of the largest in the UK, with £5000 being awarded to the first prize poet, £1000 as second prize and £500 as third prize. A further ten poets were award £50 each in supplementary prizes. Entries are accepted from all over the world, and winners this year were from the US and Japan as well as Britain.

First prize was won by Esther Morgan, for her poem 'This Morning'. Morgan has published two collections with Bloodaxe, and has both studied and taught at UEA. She is currently Historic Recordings Manager for the Poetry Archive.

Second prize went to Rowland Molony, for his poem 'Snipe', whilst Jennifer Copley won third prize for her poem 'There's Another Graveyard'.

Supplementary prizes went to Sarah Barr (who was also awarded the Dorset Prize, for poets in the area), Miles Burrows, Angela Cleland, Josephine Corcoran, Edward Doegar, Cheryl Moskowitz, Jennifer Olds, Miwa Ota, Ian Pindar and Anne Stewart.

For more details visit

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page