man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Gillian Clarke wins the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry | 28-Dec-10

Gillian Clarke wins the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry.

The press release says: 
The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry 

Carcanet Press is delighted to announce that Gillian Clarke will be awarded The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry 2010.
The Gold Medal for Poetry was instituted by King George V in 1933. Recommendations for this year's award were made by a committee of eminent men and women of letters, selected by the current Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy. The Poetry Medal Committee chose Gillian Clarke in recognition of an outstanding body of work and for her latest Carcanet collection A Recipe for Water. According to Carol Ann Duffy, Gillian Clarke is 'a superb performer of her own work in her memorable and musical voice; a tireless visitor to schools; a poet who for decades has worked closely with teachers and aspiring writers... Gillian Clarke is part of the literary landscape of this country'. Previous recipients of this distinguished prize include the acclaimed Australian poet Les Murray, in 1998, and the late Scottish Laureate Edwin Morgan, in 2000. Gillian Clarke will be presented with the medal by the Queen in 2011. Click here to read an official statement from the Press Secretary to the Queen:
A Recipe for Water

A Recipe for Water is Gillian Clarke's first collection since becoming the National Poet of Wales in 2008. The drop of water on the tongue, she writes, 'was the first word in the world', and the language of water is the element in which these poems live. Gillian Clarke explores water as memory and meaning, the bearer of stories that well up from a personal and collective past to return us to the language of the imagination in which we first named the world.

Previous Recipients of The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry:

2009: Don Paterson
2007: James Fenton
2006: Fleur Adcock
2004: Hugo Williams
2003: U. A. Fanthorpe
2002: Peter Porter
2001: Michael Longley
2000: Edwin Morgan
1998: Les Murray
1996: Peter Redgrove
1992: Kathleen Raine
1991: Judith Wright
1990: Sorley Maclean
1989: Allen Curnow
1988: Derek Walcott
1986: Norman MacCaig
1981: D. J. Enright
1977: Norman Nicholson
1974: Ted Hughes
1973: John Heath-Stubbs
1971: Stephen Spender
1970: Roy Fuller
1969: Stevie Smith
1968: Robert Graves
1967: Charles Causley
1965: Philip Larkin
1964: R. S. Thomas
1963: William Plomer
1962: Christopher Fry
1960: John Betjeman
1959: Frances Cornford
1957: Siegfried Sassoon
1956: Edmund Blunden
1955: Ruth Pitter
1954: Ralph Hodgson
1953: Arthur Waley
1952: Andrew Young
1940: Michael Thwaites
1937: W. H. Auden
1934: Laurence Whistler

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page