man watching a poetry video

Poetry scene news

Carol Ann Duffy wins Costa Poetry Prize | 07-Jan-12

Carol Ann Duffy has won the Costa Poetry Prize with her new book, 'The Bees'. Also shortlisted for the TS Eliot prize, it is the first collection by Duffy to be published since she was appointed Poet Laureate in 2009.

The judges for the award were Sarah Crown, William Fiennes and Sharon Murray. The shortlist also consisted of 'Night' by David Harsent, 'Fiere' by Jackie Kay and 'November' by Sean O'Brien.

The judges said of Duffy's collection: "We were thrilled by the poet's musical feeling for language and her spellbinding ability to combine naturalness and formal complexity. It's a joyful collection."

Other winners at the Costa Book Awards included poet Matthew Hollis, who won the Costa Biography Prize for his book 'Now All Roads Lead to France', about Edward Thomas. The overall winner of the Costa Prize will be announced at the presentation ceremony on 24th January. Last year poet Jo Shapcott won with her collection 'Of Mutability'.

:: Back to Poetry scene News ::

Back to top Register for newsletter
Bookmark This Page